1. Ferrovial
  2. STEM

What is the Nobel Prize in Physics?

The Nobel Prize in Physics is one of the most prestigious awards in the scientific field worldwide. Since 1901, it has been awarded annually to researchers who have made significant discoveries or inventions in the field of physics.

The Nobel Prize in Physics is one of the five categories that was established by the Swedish chemist, engineer, inventor, arms manufacturer, and philanthropist Alfred Nobel in his will to pay tribute to people from around the world who have made the most noteworthy contributions to humanity in the development and promotion of physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, and peace. He bequeathed 94% of his fortune to this end in the will, which he drafted a year before his death in 1985.

The winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics receive a diploma, a medal, and a sum of money that has continued to grow for more than a century of history.

How is the Nobel Prize in Physics selected?

The selection process for the Nobel Prize in Physics is carried out by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Every year, prominent scientists from all over the world are invited to nominate candidates they consider worthy of the award. According to the statutes, nominations may be made by:

  • Members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
  • Members of the Nobel Physics Committee.
  • Previous winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics.
  • Full professors of physical sciences from universities and technological institutes in Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm. 
  • Holders of professorships from hundreds of universities around the world selected by the Academy of Sciences to ensure proper distribution among different countries.
  • Other scientists that the Academy deems appropriate to invite.

No one can nominate themselves.

The invitations are sent to experts in September of the previous year, and the deadline for submitting nominations is January 31. At that point, the nominations are evaluated by the committee of experts appointed by the Academy, and they carry out an exhaustive analysis of the achievements and contributions of the candidates.

Through September of the same year, experts are consulted, evaluations are made, reports with recommendations are written, and the final candidates are selected.

Finally, the Physics Committee presents its recommendations to all the members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, who decide the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics by voting.

The Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded to a maximum of three people each year.

When are the Nobel Prizes awarded?

The Nobel Prize winners are announced at the beginning of October, right after the votes, and they are presented each year at a ceremony on December 10th, the date chosen to commemorate the death of Albert Nobel.

What is the importance of the Nobel Prize in Physics?

This recognition has played a crucial role in the advancement of science and the promotion of research in the field of physics. It has also made it possible to recognize and reward the exceptional efforts made by scientists, in addition to spreading the word about their achievements at a global level and making it easier for their findings to be implemented in countless areas.

Google Play App Store